





The Debating Society Of SLC

REPORT

SHYAM LALYOUTH PARLIAMENT '22

SHEERSHASTH, The debating society of SLC (M) organised its 3rd edition of SHYAM LAL YOUTH PARLIAMENT-SLYP'22 on 26th & 27th April, 2022 in Room no.10 under the guidance of our Principal Professor Rabi Narayan Kar, convenor Mr. Nishant Kumar Singh and Faculty teachers committee of Miss Suman Rani, Miss Jyoti Attri, Miss Neha Bothra, Miss Reeshu Chaudhary And Dr. Ompal Singh Yadav.

The 1st session of the day started with the inauguration of the event at 10am with a welcome address by members of **SHEERSHASTH** followed by a speech about the Proceedings of the House by the Speaker. The Speaker and the Deputy Speaker of the House i.e. Loksabha was **Mr Naman Jain** and **Mr Radha Krishan Gaur** respectively. The agenda of 1st day was **Discussion on Prohibition of Child Marriage** (**Amendment**) **Bill**, **2021**. The discussion started with the leader of the house presenting the opening statement as well as laying down the idea of how the Government was trying to implement the Bill. The opening statement faced strong opposition on the repercussions the Amendment Bill will have on the girls as well as the effect it will have on the society. The 1st session concluded with the debate on the agenda and the opposition requested the Government to ensure that the Bill will be advantageous for the girls. With this, the session was adjourned.

After a brief break, the session resumed with the debate intensifying as well as covering more ground. The Government and the opposition till the very end continued to prove their stands. Finally, the session ended successfully and we had the name of winners with us. The speaker of the committee gave his valuable remark and facilitated the winners with trophies and certificates. **Mr Raunak Upmanyu** backed the best Parliamentarian award, **Miss Tanya Arora** backed the

high Commendation award and **Miss Payal Sharma** got the special Mention award. With this, we came to an end of 1st day of the SLYP'22.

The 2nd day of session started at 10 am with the lighting of the lamp. The Chairperson and the Deputy Chairperson was **Miss Rishita Aggarwal** & **Miss Mehakshi Garg** respectively. The Chairperson briefed about the proceedings of the House i.e. Rajya Sabha. The agenda of the 2nd day was **Discussion on Population Control Bill, 2021**. The discussion started with the leader of the house arguing how much the bill is important for the citizens. The Government was challenged by the strong view points of the opposition. The discussion was overall productive.

After a brief break, the session resumed and Government and opposition continued proving themselves right. Finally, the session ended successfully and we had the name of winners with us. The Chairperson of the committee gave her valuable remark and facilitated the winners with trophies and certificates. **Mr Raunak Upmanyu** backed the best Parliamentarian award, **Mr Shivam Kumar** backed the high Commendation award and **Miss Tanya Arora** got the special Mention award. All the participants were appreciated and awarded with Participation certificate. With this, we came to an end of 2nd day of the SLYP'22.

Finally the two days event came to an end with a vote of thanks by President of **SHEERSHASTH- Shrestha Attrey.**

PHOTOS













