





SHEERSHASTH

The Debating Society Of SLC

<u>REPORT</u>

Extemporaneous'21

Sheershasth, The Debating Society of SLC (M) proudly organised
Extemporaneous'21-<u>An Inter- College Bilingual Extempore Competition</u> as a part of Reminiscence – a cultural event in memory of Mr. Rajarshi Kalita & Dr.
Ameswar Naik in seminar room on 23rd of September 2021, 9.30 a.m. onwards.

The convenor of Sheershasth, **Mr. Nishant Kumar Singh**, welcomed the participants and the Jury members - **Ms. Jyoti Atri, Dr. Neha Bothra & Dr. Awanish Mishra. Dr. Jaya kakkar,** Associate Professor, Depatment of history, SLC invited as the Chief guest, addressed the gathering and emphasised that winning and losing are just a part of life, learning is more important. **Dr. Priyanka Thakur**, associate professor, department of history, **SLC** was invited as the Guest of Honour.

The event started with the lighting of lamp by the Chief guest and he Guest of honour. The event was facilitated by the presence of **Dr. Reshu Chaudhary, Dr. Ompal Singh Yadav and Ms. Swati** – Faculty committee of Sheershasth. The convenor and faculty committee offered token of honour to the chief guest, guest of honour and the jury.

More than 25 participants from Delhi University registered for the event. Sheershasth chose 14 speakers to participate and present their views on selected motions regarding contemporary social, economic and national issues. Participants were given topics on the spot. 3 minutes were allotted as preparation time and 3 minutes were given to each participant to present their arguments. No interjections were entertained.

The event was conducted smoothly with Sheershasth team handling everything effortlessly.

The jury listened to each and every participant with great attention, patience and marked them for their speeches on the basis of content, examples, diction and presentation.

Sanjay Kumar Nishad of Kirori mal College bagged **the first prize**, Namrata Gaur of SDC got **the second prize** and Aryaman Pratap Singh of Aryabhatta College received **the third prize**. The winners were awarded with merit certificates, exciting cash prizes and trophies. All the participants were appreciated with participation certificates.

The event ended with a vote of thanks by the President of Sheershasth- Ms. Shreshtha Attrey.

